Hylands House

Subscribe to Hylands House feed
Updated: 50 min 49 sec ago

Bring a sock, make a puppet!

Wed, 2 Jul 2014 - 3:46pm

A fun activity using old socks to create puppets with personality!  As there will be some sewing, this event is best suited to children of 6 years and over.  Don't forget to bring an old sock.

 

Tickets must be pre-booked.  Please call: 01245 605523 to reserve your place.

 

Dates & Times: Wednesday, 6 August 2014 - 11:00am

The Flashback Festival

Sun, 29 Jun 2014 - 3:01am

PARTY FROM 5-11pm

What better way is there to spend a long summer evening than listening to your favourite performers in the picturesque location of Hylands House?

For 80’s enthusiasts this is a must but the atmosphere caters for everyone so whether you want to sit back and relax or dance the night away Flashback is the event for you.

Great venue,
fabulous artists,
fantastic evening!!!!

 

Line up

Billy Ocean
Heather Small
Marc Almond
ABC
Hue and Cry
Go West
From the Jam
T'Pau
Doctor 

 

Dates & Times: Saturday, 13 September 2014 - 5:00pm

Christmas Shopping Fair

Sun, 29 Jun 2014 - 3:01am

Our very popular Christmas Fair offers free entry to crafts, gifts, decorations, fine foods and drink, something for everyone! Over 160 stalls are sprawled across the Stables Visitor Centre, Grand Pavilion, outdoor areas and within Hylands House, whilst entertainment is provided throughout the day.

 

See the House and Stables lit up after dusk and take in the festive atmosphere with a hot toddy.

 

Dates & Times: Saturday, 6 December 2014 - 11:00am

Essex Boot camp

Fri, 27 Jun 2014 - 12:12am

Essex Boot camp have vigorous exercise sessions at various parks in Chelmsford. These run continuously throughout the year, at Beaulieu Park (Monday, Wednesday and Friday), Hylands Park (Saturday) and Admirals Park (Tuesday, Thursday and Sunday).
 

For further details please see their website www.essexbootcamp.co.uk

 

Sessions last one hour and there is always at least one qualified instructor in attendance.

 

Dates & Times: Saturday, 28 June 2014 - 9:00am

Nordic Walking

Fri, 27 Jun 2014 - 12:12am

Nordic Walking sessions held at Hylands Park each Wednesday. For further details please see Nordic Walking.

 

Please note that will be no session on 25 June and there will be no sessions during August 2014

 

 

 

 

  Dates & Times: Wednesday, 2 July 2014 - 10:00am

Horse and Carriage rides

Fri, 27 Jun 2014 - 12:12am
11am to 12.30pm & 2pm to 3pm

Take a ride around Hylands Park in a horse drawn carriage. What better way to experience life as it was back in the 1700s! Carriage leaves from the front of the house every 15 minutes. 

 

The following rides will take place from the Adventure Play Castle area:

Sun 6 July

Wed 23rd July

Thursday 24th July

Mon 28th July

Wed 30th July

Fri 1st August

 

 

Dates & Times: Monday, 4 August 2014 - 11:00am

Scrapbook Safari

Fri, 27 Jun 2014 - 12:12am
About Scrapbook Safari

 

The Scrapbook Safari sessions are run throughout the year either at the weekend or during the school holidays. The Safaris are an opportunity for children to enjoy a guided exploration at Hylands along with others of a similar age. The Safaris are aimed at primary school aged children and so we ask that for safety reasons children are accompanied.  

 

Dates & Times: Wednesday, 19 February 2014 - 10:00am

Last Night of the Proms

Fri, 27 Jun 2014 - 12:12am

The proud Welshman, Aled Jones, is a successful singer, actor, author, radio and TV presenter, with a career spanning over 25 years.

After studying at The Royal Academy of Music and Bristol's Old Vic Theatre School, he went on to secure many fantastic roles including; Joseph in Andrew Lloyd Webber's "Joseph and the Technicolour Dreamcoat," Caractacus Potts in "Chitty Chitty Bang Bang," and the lead role in Irving Berlin's "White Christmas."

Dates & Times: Sunday, 7 September 2014 - 7:00pm

Applique

Sun, 22 Jun 2014 - 2:22am

Come along and learn how to make and attach your own letters or shapes to create a completely individual piece which you can turn into a cushion or on another project. During this class you will learn how to attach letters/shapes and decorate with hand or machine stitching.

 

An equipment list will be provided. Morning and afternoon refreshments are included

Dates & Times: Sunday, 31 August 2014 - 10:00am

Alice in Wonderland - The Musical

Mon, 16 Jun 2014 - 12:44am
Please note the change of date from the Event Brochure

 

Logic is abandoned in this wonderfully interactive tale of childhood and imagination as Alice meets White Rabbit, The Mad Hatter and the March Hare.


Filled with catchy songs such as ‘A Flea and a Fly in a Flu’ and ‘Twinkle Twinkle Little Bat’, this lively and funny performance is brought to life for families with music, dancing and a host of pranks that appeal to both children and adults alike.

 

Dates & Times: Tuesday, 26 August 2014 - 3:00pm

Alice's Workshop

Sun, 15 Jun 2014 - 2:35am
Please note the change of date form the Event Brochure

 

Take a tumble down the rabbit hole with Alice in a 30 minute drama workshop before the performance. Here children can be introduced to the characters from the story and work on themed drama activities, songs and games.

 

For children aged 5-10 years with tickets for Alice in Wonderland - The Musical

Dates & Times: Tuesday, 26 August 2014 - 1:30pm

V Festival

Thu, 12 Jun 2014 - 2:35am
Important dates
 

Mon 10 Feb: Virgin Media pre-sale registration opens

Mon 3 Mar – 8PM: V Festival Line-Up announcement

Tues 4 Mar: Virgin Media pre-sale opens

Thurs 6 Mar – 9am: Essex Residents pre-sale opens for 24hrs

Thurs 6 Mar: Virgin Media pre-sale ends midnight

Fri 7 Mar – 9am: General on sale

 

Dates & Times: Saturday, 16 August 2014 - 12:00pm

Advanced visitors notice for Hylands Park areas affected by The 3foot & Fling Festivals

Wed, 4 Jun 2014 - 4:42pm

Attention All Park Users

Dates & Times: Friday, 20 June 2014 - 9:00am

Pages